Consider yourself rich

When will I start considering myself as rich? When we read in the Bible about the rich guy who lived for the law of God, he obeyed it step by step and then he asked Jesus: what do I have to do to enter Your kingdom? And Jesus answered: sell all you have and give the money you gain to the poor we tend to think that we are not those rich people. The story is not for me, because I do not have millions in the bank.

But is that the truth? In what country do you live? The Netherlands is considered one of the richest countries in the world. Does it mean that just because we can’t buy EVERYTHING that we are not rich?

How rich are we when we have a roof above our head, healthcare and education? I always try to live my best life and help others as much as possible but when I bought the 56th little thing for myself I wondered. How much do I need this. Is this thing of lipstick really necessary? Couldn’t I have donated that 15 euros that I spent on it?

I think I haven’t considered myself rich because I couldn’t afford everything right away. I couldn’t always buy what I wanted to, but in the meanwhile I wasn’t thinking about others. What they could’ve done with the money that I spent on basically nothing. Some luxury item that I’ll probably outgrow in a month. For my own conscious it is not fair that I spend so much money on myself and not even consider the ones in need. Sure, I might only buy secondhand or FairTrade clothes but I also still buy quite a lot of unneccesary stuff.

I’m trying to find a balance and I am trying to see what God wants from me. I know He wants me to love others as myself and I know He will guide me wherever I need to go.

Do you consider yourself rich?

Love,

Adriana

Reageren